Sam's Blog

Twenty-four hours is like three weeks!

Take this, Films of 2007

Posted by samgr on January 17, 2008

Because it occurred to me, here is my list of the top ten movies of 2007. These are obviously limited to what I’ve seen.

  1. Juno
  2. 3:10 to Yuma
  3. Beowulf
  4. Sweeney Todd
  5. No Country for Old Men
  6. Into Great Silence
  7. Ratatouille
  8. The Bourne Ultimatum
  9. Sicko
  10. The Simpsons Movie

And now, keeping in mind that I saw barely more than twenty movies, here are the three worst:

  1. Spiderman 3
  2. Transformers
  3. Stardust

    I was gonna do the five worst, but aside from those three stinkers I actually liked SOMETHING about most of the other movies I saw, so I thought I’d leave them in their own category. These are three terrible, terrible movies. Comments? I’m looking at you here, Daniel. How do you like Beowulf up there at number three?

    5 Responses to “Take this, Films of 2007”

    1. Nightstrike said

      Well you know what I’m gonna say about Beowulf, and also about Transformers. However, I have seen so few of your top ten that I can’t really say anything else (I’ve only seen Beowulf, Todd, Rat, Bourne, and the Simpsons). And Stardust and Spiderman I completely agree with.

      Mine would be:
      Ratatouille
      The Bourne Ultimatum
      Sweeney Todd
      The Kingdom
      I Am Legend
      Transformers
      300
      honestly I can’t think of any more… What does that mean? Also, those are in no particular order. Transformers is lower down than the others, but still on there.

    2. […] Own Little Oscar Ceremony. 20 January, 2008 Well, not quite. But as many people, including my brother, have done recently, I’m going to attempt to make a top ten movie list of 2007. Here goes […]

    3. Dolly said

      Feel free to ignore this as I just randomly stumbled upon this, but I must say… I really dislike your list. Juno was possibly the most overrated movie of 2007. I actually cringed on multiple occasions throughout the film. All of the characters talk exactly like Diablo Cody, which is not a good thing. I want to see her movie, not hear a drawn-out version of her blog. Stardust, on the other hand, I felt was highly underrated. Sure, there were flaws, but it was a surprisingly entertaining popcorn flick. Not a terribly faithful adaptation, but then neither was The Princess Bride… And there are some notable exclusions – what about Atonement? Away From Her? There Will Be Blood? Control? In the end, though, I suppose it all boils down to personal taste.

    4. Dolly said

      Uhh, I just noticed the part about only seeing about 20 movies this year, so I assume you haven’t seen most of the aforementioned films. But my comment about Stardust still stands.

    5. samgr said

      First, of all, nice to hear from you, Dolly. And as for the Princess Bride… Well, I know the Princess Bride. The Princess Bride is a friend of mine, and Stardust ain’t no Princess Bride. And in terms of the adaptation, the Princess Bride was written by William Goldman! Agreed on the matter of personal taste, I guess.
      I’m very curious to see the other films you mentioned. The only one I HAVE seen is There Will be Blood, which was a conscious omission. Certainly didn’t hate it, and I loved Daniel Day Lewis! But as for the movie as a whole, I just kind of… didn’t get it. I need someone who is both very smart and a good teacher to explain it to me. You up for it?

    Leave a Reply

         
